Spencer Carries Home Hopes In Namibia World Championships

Dylan Marc Spencer singlehandedly leads home hopes into the second round of the Men’s WSF World Junior Squash Championship – but only after the withdrawal of his first round opponent in the World Squash Federation event being staged for the first time in Namibia at the Wanderers Sports Club in the country’s capital Windhoek.

The 17-year-old Namibian received the walkover after the withdrawal of Jordan’s Mohammad Alsarraj – and will now faceKhaled Al-Jenaidel for a place in the third round after the Kuwaiti beat Tafadzwa Mushunje of Zimbabwe 11-7, 13-11, 11-8.

More than 150 players from 31 countries were welcomed at an Opening Ceremony hosted by the event’s main sponsorsTrustco Group International.

In an address given by Quinton van Rooyen, the Trustco Group Managing Director said the hosting of the World Junior Squash Championships in Namibia was not just a milestone for the country, but also for Trustco.

“It is an incredible opportunity for Namibia to showcase our hospitality, talent and infrastructure on the international arena. For Trustco, it’s the culmination of years of commitment and investment in the development of squash in Namibia.”


David Baillargeon leads a trio of Canadians through to the second round. The 18-year-old battled for four games to overcome USA’s Thomas Kingshott (both pictured above) 11-5, 11-8, 4-11, 11-5.

Full World Juniors Coverage

RESULTS: Men’s WSF World Junior Squash Championship, Windhoek, Namibia

1st round:
James Evans (ENG) bt Gerhardus Lottering (NAM) 11-2, 11-3, 11-5
Vijay Meena (IND) bt Ricardo Toscano (GUA) 11-8, 11-4, 11-5
Andres Gonzalez (COL) bt Ali Alqallaf (KUW) 11-2, 11-2, 11-0
Cillian Dunne (IRL) bt Lau Tsz Kwan (HKG) w/o
Juan Segundo Barreyro (ARG) bt Elliot Msindisi Sibanda (BOT) 11-2, 11-4, 11-5
Max D Reed (USA) bt Justin Wesson (RSA) 11-9, 11-6, 11-7
[9/16] Mohd Syafiq Kamal (MAS) bt Nir Cohen (ISR) 11-8, 11-9, 11-7
Enzo Corigliano (FRA) bt Yannick Omlor (GER) 11-6, 11-7, 11-9
Miko Aijanen (FIN) bt Michael Mehl (CAN) 6-11, 11-9, 11-8, 11-7
Dairo Sandoval (COL) bt Aubrey Lawrence (RSA) 11-7, 11-8, 7-11, 4-11, 11-8
Muhammad Asim Khan (PAK) bt James Peach (ENG) 11-7, 11-7, 11-9
Bernat Jaume (ESP) bt Chapman Kutia (NZL) 11-4, 11-4, 11-9
Runyararo Kadyautumbe (ZIM) bt Alexander Lundqvist (SWE) 11-8, 5-11, 11-7, 11-8
Ivan Caucich (ARG) bt Chris Lo (HKG) w/o
Khaled Al-Jenaidel (KUW) bt Tafadzwa Mushunje (ZIM) 11-7, 13-11, 11-8
Dylan Marc Spencer (NAM) bt Mohammad Alsarraj (JOR) w/o
Saad El Din Ehab (EGY) bt Jean-Pierre van de Merwe (RSA) 10-12, 11-2, 11-6, 11-8
Qaini Bonilla (GUA) bt Aqif Ampandi (MAS) w/o
David Baillargeon (CAN) bt Thomas Kingshott (USA) 11-5, 11-8, 4-11, 11-5
Derek Hsue (USA) bt Benjamin Aubert (FRA) 11-6, 12-10, 2-11, 11-7
Scott Galloway (NZL) bt Abubakar Adamu (NGR) w/o
Darren Chan (MAS) bt Pontus Rengbo (SWE) 11-9, 11-9, 11-4
Edmon Lopez Moller (ESP) bt Le Hugo van Rooyen (NAM) 11-4, 11-6, 11-1
Roee Avraham (ISR) bt Niklas Becher (GER) 10-12, 11-7, 11-7, 11-8
Luke Michael Mannion (ZIM) bt Tebogo Thabologo (BOT) 11-4, 11-5, 13-11
Jarryd Osborne (CAN) bt Sean Redman (GER) 11-5, 11-1, 11-4
Velavan Senthilkumar (IND) bt Mason Ripka (USA) 11-3, 11-3, 11-6
Patrick Rooney (ENG) bt Nikita Gilevskiy (IRL) 11-7, 11-7, 11-6
Eain Yow Ng (MAS) bt Noam Peer (ISR) 11-3, 11-3, 11-5
Santiago Orozco (COL) bt Carel Olivier (NAM) 11-0, 11-4, 11-5
Mohammad Alterki (KUW) bt Marti Munar (ESP) 11-9, 11-8 ret.
Timothy Robert Brownell (USA) bt Micky Joseph (BOT) 11-0, 11-1, 11-8
Santiago Camargo (COL) bt Innocent Mukumba (ZIM) 11-2, 11-1, 11-5
Federico Cioffi (ARG) bt George Diederik Bekker (NAM) 11-1, 11-1, 11-1
Kristian Rautiainen (FIN) bt Syed Azlan Iqbal (QAT) 11-5, 11-3, 11-6
Wayne Sithole (RSA) bt Max Trimble (NZL) 10-12, 11-4, 11-5, 11-0
Ong Sai Hung (MAS) bt Tor Christoffersen (SWE) 13-11, 11-6, 11-9
Laurence Kuhn (RSA) bt Oisin Logan (IRL) 11-7, 11-8, 15-17, 19-17
David Yacobucci (USA) bt Arjun Deepak Kochar (IND) w/o
Iker Pajares Bernabeu (ESP) bt Luke Jones (NZL) 11-9, 11-3, 11-7
Lucas Wirths (GER) bt Yuen Tsun Hei (HKG) w/o
Michael Thompson (CAN) bt Mohammad Ali (KUW) 11-3, 11-3, 11-3
Jami Aijanen (FIN) bt Alejandro Enriquez (GUA) 11-5, 11-6, 11-6
[9/16] Youssef Soliman (EGY) bt Carter Robitaille (CAN) 11-2, 11-3, 8-11, 11-3
Nicolas Valderrama (COL) bt Kyle Christoper Robert Kriel (NAM) 11-5, 11-2, 11-6
Callum Lawton (ZIM) bt Mohd Mukhtar (MAS) w/o
Madhav Dhingra (IND) bt Nils Lindgren (SWE) 11-1, 11-3, 11-4
Youssef Aboul-Makarim (EGY) bt Theo Pelonomi (BOT) 11-1, 11-2, 11-2
Abdulrahaman Yusuf (NGR) bt Ling To Yu (HKG) w/o
Franco Andres Romiglio (ARG) bt Bryn Turk (ZIM) 11-1, 11-2, 11-6

Full World Juniors Coverage