Four Set To Share Commonwealth Games Squash Gold

England, Australia and Malaysia are expected to share the Squash gold medals in next month’s Commonwealth Games in Delhi, according to the draws announced today by the World Squash Federation.

Malaysian Nicol David, who celebrated her 50th successive month as world number one this month, is the firm favourite to win the women’s singles gold medal for the first time – while Englishman Nick Matthew, the world No2, is top seed in the men’s individual event.

But the seeding suggests that the remaining singles medals will go to England – with James Willstrop, the world No6 who was runner-up in this week’s British Grand Prix in Manchester, winning silver and Peter Barker bronze.

World number two Jenny Duncalf is seeded to be runner-up in the women’s individual event, while her England team-mateAlison Waters is the bronze prediction.

Yorkshireman Nick Matthew teams up with Londoner Adrian Grant for the Men’s Doubles, in which a gold medal is predicted for the English pair.

But Australia are expected to win gold in both the Women’s and Mixed Doubles – with New South Wales’s Kasey Brownlining up with Donna Urquhart as favourites in the women’s event, and teaming up with Cameron Pilley, also from NSW, as top seeds in the mixed championship.

Hosts India are expected to win their first ever Commonwealth Games Squash medal in the Women’s Doubles whereJoshna ChinappaDipika Pallikal are seeded to secure silver – but they, and the other favourites, may be upset by the specialist doubles combinations from New Zealand and Scotland.

The Commonwealth Games Squash events will take place at the superb new eleven-court Siri Fort Squash Complexin Delhi – which features an all-glass centre court – from 4-13 October.

Men’s Singles 1st round draw:
[1] Nick Matthew (ENG) bye
Mohd Nafiizwan Adnan (MAS) v Hartaj Bains (KEN)
[10] Aamir Atlas Khan (PAK) v Masud Rana (BAN)
Colin Ramasra (TRI) v Jules Snagg (SVG)
[7] Cameron Pilley (AUS) v Joe Chapman (IVB)
Siddharth Suchde (IND) v Michael Hopkins (JEY)
[14] Ryan Cuskelly (AUS) v Sandeep Jangra (IND)
Bradley Hindle (MLT) v Navin Samarasinghe (SRI)
[3] Peter Barker (ENG) v Kelvin Ndhlovu (ZAM)
Alan Clyne (SCO) v Nicholas Kyme (BER)
[11] Saurav Ghosal (IND) v Ian Rukunya (UGA)
Patrick Chifunda (ZAM) v Lyall Paterson (SCO)
[8] Stewart Boswell (AUS) v Chris Small (SCO)
Harinder Pal Sandhu (IND) v Shopon Pervez (BAN)
[13] Farhan Mehboob (PAK) v Samuel Kyagulanyi (UGA)
Yasir Butt (PAK) v Christopher Binnie (JAM)
Lefika Ragontse (BOT) v Harry Leitch (SCO)
[16] Campbell Grayson (NZL) v Ray Simbule (ZAM)
Robin Clarke (CAN) v Othniel Bailey (SVG)
[6] Mohd Azlan Iskandar (MAS) v James Bentick (SVG)
Chris Simpson (GGY) v Aubrey Taulo (MAW)
[15] Martin Knight (NZL) v Hardeep Reel (KEN)
Danish Atlas Khan (PAK) v Bruce Burrowes (JAM)
[4] Daryl Selby (ENG) v Michael Rucklinger (PNG)
Lekgotla Mosope (BOT) v Shawn Simpson (BAR)
[9] Ong Beng Hee (MAS) v Lazarus Chiluba Chilufya (ZAM)
Andrew McDougall (CAN) v Orumu Ofoyuru (UGA)
[5] David Palmer (AUS) v Julius Taulo (MAW)
Shawn Delierre (CAN) v Henry Birch (GGY)
[12] Shahier Razik (CAN) v Kawooya Nsaale (UGA)
Ivan Yuen (MAS) v James Matewere (MAW)
[2] James Willstrop (ENG) bye

Women’s Singles 2nd round draw:
[1] Nicol David (MAS) v Karen Meakins (BAR)
[15] Joshna Chinappa (IND) v Sharon Wee (MAS)
[5] Laura Massaro (ENG) v Lisa Aitken (SCO)
[16] Alana Miller (CAN) v Anwesha Reddy (IND)
[4] Madeline Perry (NIR) v Sharya Guruge (SRI) or Safina Madhani (KEN)
[13] Lisa Camilleri (AUS) v Frania Gillen-Buchert (SCO) or Ashley Khalil (GUY)
[6] Kasey Brown (AUS) v Miranda Ranieri (CAN) or Kate Cadigan (JEY)
[11] Delia Arnold (MAS) v Kerrie Sample (TRI) or Issey Norman-Ross (GGY)
[12] Joelle King (NZL) v Jeannine Cowie (JEY) or Barbara Stubbings (PNG)
[8] Donna Urquhart (AUS) v Nicolette Fernandes (GUY) or Khaaliqa Nimji (KEN)
[14] Dipika Pallikal (IND) v Natalie Dodd (GGY) or Stephanie Edmison (CAN)
[3] Alison Waters (ENG) v Samantha Cornett (CAN)
[9] Low Wee Wern (MAS) v Zoe Barr (NIR)
[7] Jaclyn Hawkes (NZL) v Amelia Pittock (AUS)
[10] Sarah Kippax (ENG) v Anaka Alankamony (IND)
[2] Jenny Duncalf (ENG) v Zephanie Curgenven (GGY)

Men’s Doubles schedule (seedings prefix pairings):
Pool 1: [1] Adrian GrantNick Matthew (ENG); [16] Patrick ChifundaLazarus Chiluba Chilufya (ZAM); Malton Blair & Alexander Fraser (CAY)
Pool 2: [2] Stewart BoswellDavid Palmer (AUS); [15] Lekgotla MosopeLefika Ragontse (BOT); Kelvin NdhlovuRay Simbule (ZAM); Gye DuncanDuncan Gray (NFK)
Pool 3: [3] Peter BarkerDaryl Selby (ENG); [14] Michael FiteniBradley Hindle (MLT); Peter Christian-BaileyMal Rundell (NFK)
Pool 4: [4] Ryan CuskellyCameron Pilley (AUS); [13] Robin ClarkeShawn Delierre (CAN); James Bentick &Jules Snagg (SVG)
Pool 5: [5] Alan ClyneHarry Leitch (SCO); [12] Yasir ButtDanish Atlas Khan (PAK); James Matewere &Julius Taulo (MAW)
Pool 6: [6] Mohd Azlan IskandarMohd Nafiizwan Adnan (MAS); [11] Sandeep JangraHarinder Pal Sandhu(IND); Kawooya NsaaleOrumu Ofoyuru (UGA); Shopon PervezMasud Rana (BAN)
Pool 7: [7] Campbell GraysonMartin Knight (NZL); [10] Aamir Atlas KhanFarhan Mehboob (PAK); Samuel KyagulanyiIan Rukunya (UGA)
Pool 8: [8] Gaurav NandrajogSiddharth Suchde (IND); [9] Lyall PatersonChris Small (SCO); Hartaj Bains &Hardeep Reel (KEN)

Women’s Doubles schedule (seedings prefix pairings):
Pool 1: [1] Kasey BrownDonna Urquhart (AUS); [8] Tamsyn LeeveyKylie Lindsay (NZL); Samantha CornettMiranda Ranieri (CAN); Kate CadiganJeannine Cowie (JEY)
Pool 2: [2] Joshna ChinappaDipika Pallikal (IND); [7] Lisa AitkenFrania Gillen-Buchert (SCO); Delia ArnoldLow Wee Wern (MAS); Zephanie CurgenvenIssey Norman-Ross (GGY)
Pool 3: [3] Lisa CamilleriAmelia Pittock (AUS); [6] Tania BaileyLaura Massaro (ENG); Zoe BarrMadeline Perry (NIR); Nicolette FernandesAshley Khalil (GUY)
Pool 4: [4] Jenny DuncalfAlison Waters (ENG); [5] Jaclyn HawkesJoelle King (NZL); Anaka Alankamony &Surbhi Misra (IND); Safina MadhaniKhaaliqa Nimji (KEN)

Mixed Doubles schedule (seedings prefix pairings):
Pool 1: [1] Kasey BrownCameron Pilley (AUS); [12] Sharon WeeIvan Yuen (MAS); Samantha Cornett &Robin Clarke (CAN); Kerrie SampleColin Ramasra (TRI)
Pool 2: [2] Jenny DuncalfJames Willstrop (ENG); [11] Joelle KingMartin Knight (NZL); Jeannine Cowie &Michael Hopkins (JEY); Safina MadhaniHartaj Bains (KEN)
Pool 3: [3] Nicol DavidOng Beng Hee (MAS); [10] Harry LeitchLisa Aitken (SCO); Stephanie Edmison &Andrew McDougall (CAN); Khaaliqa NimjiHardeep Reel (KEN)
Pool 4: [4] Dipika PallikalSaurav Ghosal (IND); [9] Frania Gillen-BuchertAlan Clyne (SCO); Marlene West &Cameron Stafford (CAY); Barbara StubbingsMichael Rucklinger (PNG)
Pool 5: [5] Jaclyn HawkesCampbell Grayson (NZL); [8] Donna UrquhartDavid Palmer (AUS); Karen MeakinsShawn Simpson (BAR)
Pool 6: [6] Alison WatersAdrian Grant (ENG); [7] Joshna ChinappaHarinder Pal Sandhu (IND); Sharya GurugeNavin Samarasinghe (SRI); Zephanie CurgenvenHenry Birch (GGY)