Egypt Seeded To Win Men’s World Junior Team Title In Ecuador

Egypt are expected to reclaim the title in the 16th Men’s World Junior Team Squash Championship, according to the interim seedings announced today by the World Squash Federation for the biennial event which will take place in Ecuador from 2-7 August.

The seedings suggest that Egypt, champions in 1994 and 2006, will meet title-holders Pakistan in the final for the fourth time in a row since 2004. Pakistan, the second seeds, are four-time winners – in 1982, 2002, 2004 and 2008 – while sixth seeds Australia boast the record with five triumphs between the inaugural year 1980 and 1992.

England are the third seeds, looking for their first title win since 2000. One of only five teams to have appeared in all 15 previous championships, England are also four times winners – in 1990, 1996, 1998 and 2000.

Fourth seeds India are expected to repeat the best ever finish they achieved two years ago in Switzerland.

The 2010 World Junior Team Championship has attracted 24 nations. The event will take place at the Quito Tennis & Golf Club in the Ecuador capital Quito, immediately following the Men’s World Junior Individual Championship from 28 July to 1 August.

Five countries are returning to the event after missing out in 2008 – with Brazil, Colombia and South Korea making their first appearances since 2000.

Initial action will take place in eight pools, each featuring three teams.

Pool A: [1] EGYPT; [16] SOUTH KOREA; [17/24] IRELAND
Pool B: [2] PAKISTAN; [15] COLOMBIA; [17/24] JAPAN
Pool C: [3] ENGLAND; [14] NETHERLANDS; [17/24] KUWAIT
Pool D: [4] INDIA; [13] WALES; [17/24] ECUADOR
Pool E: [5] CANADA; [12] SOUTH AFRICA; [17/24] VENEZUELA
Pool F: [6] MEXICO; [11] NEW ZEALAND; [17/24] GUATEMALA
Pool G: [7] FRANCE; [10] AUSTRALIA; [17/24] BRAZIL
Pool H: [8] USA; [9] GERMANY; [17/24] CAYMAN ISLANDS